Safety is our DNA

More 100 years for your safety

Always on the safe side

100 years of BURG-WÄCHTER

Foundation

November 25, 1920 marks the birth of BURG-WÄCHTER. Under the name F. Buhl & Co. the company is founded by Alfred Lüling and his uncle Ferdinand Buhl in Volmarstein. Before starting its own production, the company sells padlocks from Burg. In the 1920s, the company grows steadily. In 1927, the first company vehicle is purchased, a single-door Hanomak. With a top speed of 60 km/h, customers throughout Germany are supplied.

Subheading

Timeline

New home

The TSE (door lock electronics) division, which later also includes the secuENTRY series, is created. This means that door locks offer more convenience thanks to modern electronics. Because you can no longer lose, misplace or lend a key. Instead, the door to one's own four walls or office can be opened conveniently by code or fingerprint. In the course of German reunification, a distribution centre is opened in Bitterfeld as early as 1990. Later, Wismar is added as a production location. The premises in the old company headquarters become too small. In 1995, BURG-WÄCHTER moves into the new company headquarters (photo) and the new production facility. The company remains loyal to its headquarters in Wetter-Volmarstein.

from Patrick Depuhl

BURG-WÄCHTER - a story of "small" and "big" values

101 years ago. The great war was not long over. The consequences can be seen and felt everywhere. 40 countries and almost 70 million soldiers faced each other. - The end is a catastrophe and a redemption in one.
As if that were not enough, a virus strikes, the mother of all pandemics it will later be called: The Spanish flu sweeps across the world in 3 waves and leaves another 50 million dead.
The world is restless. Full of turmoil and uncertainty: bloodbath in front of the Reichstag. Kapppusch and Ruhraufstand with 50,000 gunmen.
At the same time, art also reawakens: blues is recorded on vinyl for the first time and the first jazz disc is released in Germany. Karl May is filmed (silently) for the first time and Zorro appears on the big screen.
At the foot of the castle hill of the Volmarstein castle ruin - the year is not quite over yet - Alfred decides to open up a new era: With a "tool of the future" - a lever-action screwdriver he starts his venture. Westphalian predecessors of padlocks have existed since 1750 - since 1890, with Friedrich Wilhelm, the BURG from the Ruhr Valley is at the start - and a Lüling at work. But from now on, in 1920, with Alfred Lüling, the castle is guarded: BURG-WÄCHTER.
The castle in sight, the castle in mind, almost Alfred finally decides to open up padlocks and decides to decipher the padlock as a showpiece. In 1922, it can be purchased for incredible prices ranging from 146.20 marks to 675.20. But admittedly: As a result of inflation, it rang more in the ear than it rang in the till. In the years that followed, the company grew not only in production, but also in sales: In 1927, the first company-owned car with solid rubber tires came into play in order to win orders.
In the 30s the next war starts and sales are temporarily stopped. - But when the horror is over, the company quickly develops further: in a basement room under the garage. And slowly the next generation comes into play: Alfred. Adalbert. Friedhelm. Names like poems. By the end of 1960, the company had about 100 employees, and when there was a need, the ladies from the office helped out on the milling machines. (I think this is still the case today - isn't it?)
But despite all the newness of the 60s, colorful advertising images for brass locks and a new lock headquarters in Meinerzhagen-Valbert, there are dark moments. First Alfred dies in 1960, then Alfred Junior, with only 39 years, in 1964. Again and again in the consciousness is - certain treasures can be protected - but life itself, lies in other hands. - The "small" values, the belongings, can be locked up. - The big values, the here and now and the coming, the eternal, life in itself, one must live out. The most precious things remain free - and at the same time priceless.
50 years of castle guards already exist. Here come the safes. And the most beautiful ones are reminiscent of a clunky telephone: They have a dial with a two-speed lock that includes 17,000,000 locking combinations; many a burglar will have thought to himself: No connection under this lock.

My first Burgwächter was a small blue cash box. Colorful and stylish. In the 60s they already looked like they do today. - But Burgwächter mailboxes. That's where the developers get their kicks. They are jewels on the house wall in the change of the time. Cast-iron letterboxes and plastic boxes. Beautifully simple like Cologne and Frankfurt, rounded like the Kiel "Soft-Line" or - let's say rather rustic-expressive models - like Vienna and Athens, Paris with "Napoleon hat" or the US mailbox with swiveling signal flag. - These are contemporary witnesses of, let's call it, "everyday art". - At the sight of many a mailbox pattern and design of bygone days, one wonders: How did they do that? - And the other wonders: Why? Why did they do that?
In 1984, a new generation of Lülings comes into play: Harald. Dietmar. Reinhard. It's hard to believe that this was 37 years ago - until you see the hairstyles. Then you realize at first glance that those were different times.
With reunification in 1990, the company is immediately on the road again throughout Germany with security for its values and Wurtstbrotbüffet in Bitterfeld - and soon producing in Wismar. And then it becomes more and more international: A good 25 years ago Romania. A good 15 years ago China, just under 10 years ago France and England.
The Lülings' next production team appears around the same time: Christopher, Gerrit and Lennart. And again they work side by side with the previous generation. As was the case when the company was founded in 1920, a pandemic comes into play for the centennial in 2020. The work continues, but the celebrations will have to wait a bit.
The big picture of 100 plus 1 years shows what's changing and what's staying the same. It is becoming increasingly international and more electronic, more digital. With fingerprints, transponders and smartwatches. The question that needs to be asked again and again is: What can be concluded and how, in order to shape the future securely. And perhaps also: In the 5th generation, will there perhaps not be a boss's chair, but a boss's chair for the first time?
At the same time, we know that locks only exist because the world is not perfect.
In the kingdom of heaven, there is only one key. Peter gets it from Jesus with the words: "To you I will give the key that unlocks the new reality of God." (Bible translation: The Book - Matthew 16:19)
Indeed. The treasures worthy of protection cannot be unlocked, but only unlocked. Exact openness unlocks life values such as wealth of ideas, a treasure of knowledge or imagination.
The key to a good life is being open: Being open-minded.
Gratitude to life, to the people around us and I believe also gratitude to the other person who holds the keys of our life in his hands. Thank God for life. For colorfulness and for mailboxes. For roots and home, family and the people around us who do us good and well. For Christmas, your birthday - and today also for 101 castle-safe years.
It's just a pity that the lord of the castle in Volmarstein, at that time, probably only had a bodyguard, but no BURG GUARD. Then we would certainly still have a castle today - and not just a ruin.

Sicherheit ist unsere DNA

Mehr als 100 Jahre für Ihre Sicherheit

Immer auf der sicheren Seite

100 Jahre BURG-WÄCHTER

Gründung

Der 25. November 1920 ist die Geburtsstunde von BURG-WÄCHTER. Unter dem Namen F. Buhl & Co. wird die Firma von Alfred Lüling und dessen Onkel Ferdinand Buhl in Volmarstein gegründet. Bevor die eigene Produktion startet, vertreibt die Firma Vorhangschlösser von Burg. In den 1920er-Jahren wächst die Firma stetig. 1927 wird das erste Firmenfahrzeug angeschafft, ein eintüriger Hanomak. Mit der Spitzengeschwindigkeit von 60 km/h werden Kunden in ganz Deutschland beliefert.

Subheading

Timeline

Neue Heimat

Der Bereich TSE (Türschlosselektronik), zu dem später auch die secuENTRY Serie zählt, entsteht. Damit bieten Türschlösser dank moderner Elektronik mehr Komfort. Denn einen Schlüssel kann man nicht mehr verlieren, verlegen oder verleihen. Stattdessen öffnet man die Tür der eigenen vier Wände oder des Büros ganz bequem per Code oder Fingerabdruck.Im Zuge der deutschen Einheit wird schon 1990 ein Auslieferungslager in Bitterfeld eröffnet. Später kommt Wismar als Produkstionsstandort dazu. Die Räumlichkeiten in der alten Firmenzentrale werden zu klein. So bezieht BURG-WÄCHTER 1995 die neue Firmenzentrale (Foto) sowie die neue Produktion. Dabei bleibt die Firma seinem Stammsitz in Wetter-Volmarstein treu.

von Patrick Depuhl

BURG-WÄCHTER - eine Geschichte von "kleinen" und "großen" Werten

Vor 101 Jahren. 1920. Der große Krieg ist noch nicht lange vorbei. Die Folgen überall sicht- und spürbar. 40 Länder und beinahe 70 Millionen Soldaten standen sich gegenüber. – Das Ende ist eine Katastrophe und eine Erlösung in einem.
Als wäre das nicht genug schlägt ein Virus zu, die Mutter aller Pandemien wird sie später heißen: Die spanische Grippe zieht in 3 Wellen über die Welt und hinterlässt nochmals um die 50 Millionen Todesopfer.
Die Welt ist unruhig. Voller Aufruhr und Unsicherheit: Blutbad vor dem Reichstag. Kapppusch und Ruhraufstand mit 50.000 Bewaffneten.
Gleichzeitig erwacht auch die Kunst neu: Das erste Mal wird Blues auf Schallplatte aufgenommen und die erste Jazz Scheibe in Deutschland herausgebracht. Karl May wird erstmals verfilmt (stumm) und Zorro erscheint auf der Leinwand.
Am Fuße des Burgbergs der Burgruine Volmarstein – das Jahr ist noch nicht ganz vorbei – entschließt sich Alfred eine neue Zeit zu erschließen: Mit einem „Werkzeug der Zukunft“ – einem Hebel-Schraubhefter startet er seine Unternehmung. Westfälische Vorgänger der Vorhängeschlösser gibt es schon seit 1750. – Seit 1890 ist mit Friedrich Wilhelm die BURG aus dem Ruhrtal am Start – und ein Lüling am Werk. Aber ab jetzt, 1920, mit Alfred Lüling, wird die Burg bewacht: BURG-WÄCHTER.
Die Burg im Blick, das Schloss im Sinn, fast Alfred schlussendlich den Entschluss Schließschlösser zu erschließen und beschließt das Vorhängeschloss als Vorzeigeobjekt zu entschlüsseln. 1922 kann man es für unglaubliche Preise zwischen 146,20 Mark und 675,20 erstehen. Aber zugegeben: Infolge von Inflation klingt das mehr im Ohr, als das es in der Kasse klingelt. In den Folgejahren wächst neben Herstellung, Vertrieb: 1927 kommt das erste eigene vollgummibereifte Auto ins Spiel, um Aufträge zu erschließen.
In den 30ern geht der nächste Krieg los und der Verkauf wird zeitweise eingestellt. – Doch als der Schrecken vorüber ist entwickelt man rasch weiter: In einem Kellerraum unter der Garage. Und langsam kommt die nächste Generation ins Spiel: Alfred. Adalbert. Friedhelm. Namen wie Gedichte. Ende 1960 hat man etwa 100 Mitarbeitende und wenn „Not am Mann“ ist helfen die Damen aus dem Büro auch an den Fräsmaschinen aus. (Ich meine das ist noch heute so – oder?)
Aber bei allem Neuen der 60er, bunten Werbebildern für Messingschlösser und einer neuen Schlosssitz in Meinerzhagen-Valbert gibt es dunkele Moment. Zuerst stirbt Alfred 1960, dann Alfred Junior, mit erst 39 Jahren, 1964. Immer wieder ist im Bewusstsein – bestimmte Schätze kann man schützen – aber Leben an sich, liegt in anderen Händen. – Die „kleinen“ Werte, das Hab und Gut kann man ein- und abschließen. – Die großen Werte, das hier und das jetzt und das Kommende, das Ewige, Leben an sich, muss man muss man ausleben. Das Kostbarste bleibt kostenlos – und gleichzeitig unbezahlbar.
50 Jahre Burg-Wächter gibt’s schon. Da kommen die Tresore. Und die schönsten erinnern an ein klobiges Telefon: Sie haben eine Wählscheibe mit einem zweitourigen Schloss, dass 17.000.000 Schließungskombinationen einschließt; da wird sich so mancher Einbrecher gedacht haben: Kein Anschluss unter diesem Abschluss.

Mein erster Burgwächter war eine kleine blaue Geldkassette. Farbenfroh und stilstabil. In den 60er Jahren sahen sie schon aus wie heute noch. – Aber burg-wächterische Briefkästen. Da geht bei den Entwicklern die Post ab. Sie sind Schmuckstücke an der Hauswand im Wan-del der Zeit. Gussbrief- und Kunststoffkästen. Schön schlicht wie Köln und Frankfurt, abge-rundet wie der Kieler „Soft-Line“ oder – sagen wir eher rustikal-ausdrucksstarke Modelle – wie Wien und Athen, Paris mit „Napoleonhut“ oder die US-Mailbox mit schwenkbarer Signalfahne. – Das sind Zeitzeugen der, nennen wir es mal „Alltagskunst“. – Beim Anblick von so manchem Briefkastenmuster und Design vergangener Tage fragt sich der eine: Wie haben die das gemacht? – Und die andere fragt sich: Warum? Warum haben die das gemacht?
1984 kommt eine neue Generation von Lülings in Spiel: Harald. Dietmar. Reinhard. Kaum will man glauben, dass das schon 37 Jahre her ist – bis man die Frisuren sieht. Dann erschließt sich auf den ersten Blick, das waren noch andere Zeiten.
Mit der Wiedervereinigung 1990 ist man sofort wieder im ganzen Deutschland unterwegs mit Sicherheit für ihre Werte und Wurtstbrotbüffet in Bitterfeld – und bald schon produzierend in Wismar. Und dann wird’s immer internationaler: Vor gut 25 Jahren Rumänien. Vor gut 15 China, vor knapp 10 Frankreich und England.
Die nächste Produktion der Lülings tritt etwa zur gleichen Zeit auf den Plan: Christopher, Gerrit und Lennart. Und wieder arbeiten sie Seite an Seite mit der Vorgängergeneration. Wie schon bei der Gründung 1920, kommt zum hundertjährigen 2020 eine Pandemie ins Spiel. Das Schaffen geht weiter, doch das Feiern muss ein wenig warten.
Im großen Blick auf 100 plus 1 Jahre wird sichtbar was sich verändert und was bleibt. Es wird zunehmend internationaler und elektronischer, digitaler. Mit Fingerabdruck, Transponder und Smartwatch. Die Frage, die es immer wieder neu zu stellen gilt: Was kann man wie abschließen, um die Zukunft sicher zu gestalten. Und vielleicht auch: Gibt es in der 5. Generation vielleicht keinen Chef-, sondern erstmals einen Chefinnensessel?
Gleichzeitig wissen wir: Schlösser gibt es nur, weil die Welt nicht perfekt ist.
Im Himmelreich wird nur von einem Schlüssel gesprochen. Den kriegt Petrus von Jesus mit den Worten ausgehändigt: „Dir werde ich den Schlüssel übergeben, der die neue Wirklichkeit Gottes aufschließt.“ (Bibelübersetzung: Das Buch – Matthäus 16,19)
Tatsächlich. Die schützenswertesten Schätze lassen sich nicht ein-, sondern nur aufschließen. Ausgerechtet Offenheit erschließt Lebenswerte wie Ideenreichtum, einen Wissensschatz oder Vorstellungsvermögen.
Der Schlüssel zu gutem Leben ist ausgerechnet: Aufgeschlossen Sein.
Dankbarkeit dem Leben, den Menschen um uns und ich glaube auch Dankbarkeit dem Gegenüber, der die Schlüssel unseres Lebens in den Händen hält. Danke Gott für Leben. Für Farbenfreude und für Briefkästen. Für Wurzeln und Heimat, Familie und die Menschen um uns herum, die uns Gutes und gut-tun. Für Weihnachten, dein Geburtstag – und heute auch für 101 burgsichere Jahre.
Schade nur, dass der Schlossherr in Volmarstein, damals wohl nur Leib-, aber kein BURG-WÄCHTER hatte. Dann hätten wir heute sicher noch eine Burg – und nicht bloß eine Ruine.